difficult child may need to pay more attention in math

Andy

I grew up baking. I think that is why I do well in math. You use fractions all the time in baking. I was following recipe directions since I could read. I hope my difficult child's interest in baking will enforce some basic math concepts.

He is making butter horns (he calls them "croissants") tonight. He will make the dough in the bread maker and then form the shapes before baking. He invited the neighbor girl over to help. I asked if she was going to help put the ingredients together to make the dough or if she would be helping forming the shapes. He said, "both".

difficult child just came to me and asked, "Mom, how else besides 12 Tlb of flour can I make 3/4 Cups?" I am not good at converting tablespoons to cups but that doesn't sound quiet right? "You can do 3 - 1/4 cups." "Will that work?" (surprised look on difficult child's face). I think he needs more time with basic fractions. Shucks, the only way I can think of to help is to have him make caramel rolls! What a shame- poor me!

Marguerite

Cooking is a great way to teach maths. If you have enough cups, put them side by side. Do you have kitchen scales that self-tare? You can tare the scales after adding each quarter cup, so he can see that the quarter cups each weigh the same. Then you weigh it all again, together, and he should see that the three-quarters cup of flour weighs three times as much as a quarter cup.