Fire burning under his ass

Malika

I am a translator and often use a translators' forum for any words/phrases I am hesitant about. Today a French translator posted for translation ideas for this phrase (a film she is subtitling), the context being a mother speaking to her rather offbeat and wild daughter about a new boyfriend:
Maybe not enough fire burning under his ass for your tastes, but he'll do for the day?
This is American English and we are all guessing at the meaning of "fire burning under his ass" - I imagine it means energy, passion but am not sure. I know you talk about asses a lot, for some reason :)

AnnieO

Shooting from the Hip
That's really not something I've ever heard. Perhaps it is some colloquialism... Different parts of the country, and all.

It's more like "Maybe not enough ambition for your tastes..."

I've heard people say "light a fire under so-and-so's ass" but...

trinityroyal

I've never heard the phrase "fire burning under his a**" either. (Being Canadian, I can't even type out the full word without blushing)
Like Step, I've heard people say things like "You need to light a fire under his a**", in other words, do something to shock him out of complacency and get him moving and motivated.

tiredmommy

It refers to him being self-motivated, and it's not a phrase used in polite company. But I'm sure it's been used sarcastically on many school mornings by the parents of difficult children. Sometimes, it would be phrased "I'm going to light a fire under his..."

Malika

Thanks! Actually, this is a French translator needing to translate the phrase into French so she just needs to understand the meaning in English... and I am just curious and indulging my bad habit of seeking distractions from the loooooong translation project I am working on myself.

trinityroyal

Restlessness doesn't really fit. The idea of having the fire already lit is a positive thing, whereas restlessness is more neutral or negative.