First post and long introduction/vent - 6yo son with- ADHD combo and CD

Adizziedoll

Hello Everyone!

I've been poking around this site on and off for many years while my son was undiagnosed, but knowing that my child was different from others even with people closest to me (and even better, strangers) trying to convince me otherwise. It's a little unsettling and darn right frustrating to hear over and over again "oh that's just normal boy stuff" when at home you're practically afraid for everyone's lives (and how the heck you're going to fix everything to get your security deposit back) because of your 2 year old son.

Well, finally, 4 years and 5 daycares later (one in which said she was educated in adhd and had one herself and would never kick him out ... 2 weeks later he was out), I think we're all on the same page. I am forever grateful to the public school, which is the first establishment to actually help us. When they called the emergency meeting a month into the school year, I thought "here we go again". (This poor kid has made so many "friends" just for them to give up on him and leave his life, it makes me so sad). They put him in a 8 week diagnostic Special Education. placement, with notes sent home every day, meetings every two weeks, an outside psychiatric evaluation courtesy of the school, and a plan built especially for him with 3 teachers making modifications everyday. It's been an awfully long journey, but here we are now with over 30 pages of diagnostic results and treatment suggestions.