Follow up on work - or how many times to you have to point out the line in the sand?

witzend

So, I talked a few months ago about my client who is a screamer, lazy, expects me to understand and do job estimates on industrial repair which I have no experience in, is ungrateful and unhappy with my work, demands that I not only do the work at his beck and call, but do it while writing it all down in front of him so he can see that I am doing it the way that he does it. I've been a nervous wreck for months.

Mid-October we went to his annual accounting for fiscal end of year. The up and down of it is that with losses carried forward and the checks he hasn't cashed in his safe from work completed, we could sit and do nothing for the next year and he still wouldn't make a profit so he wouldn't owe any taxes next year, either. (FWIW, if you were unaware, Corporations only pay taxes on income, so if you can run a corporation at a loss, you can never pay taxes.) After the meeting he told me he wanted me to start coming in 3 days a week again. I'm not his employee, he's my client. I told him no. I told him I would do his books, his payroll, his sales taxes, the things he hired me to do, but I would no longer do job estimates (when he yells), technical reports, (which I know nothing about and I can't read his sloppy notes), advertising, yada yada yada. He told me he might have to let me go completely, and I told him I understood. Nothing more was said.