Frustrated in Nap Town

TCOLE

I am the aunt of a five year old boy who has be diagnosed with ODD, and my family and I are totally frustrated with the lack of help that we getting from the school system. I have just realized recently that my nephew has a real mental disorder and not just a behavior problem that can be solved with time outs or any other form of punishment. I am afraid that sister is going into depression because she does not know how to deal with him. My sister has very little money and relies on state medical aid which has not helped at all. Now that my nephew is in school he has been supsended 3 times this year already. I am just looking for ideas on where to even begin to get help for my nephew.

SophiaMaria

I'm brand new to this ODD rollercoaster too, and have no advice as i'm in the same boat, but huge hugs to you and your sister. Hopefully someone can take your nephew now and then to give her a breather and help her regroup.

tictoc

Hi,
Has the school called for a Student Study Team (SST) meeting? That is the first step towards getting help through the school district. In my opinion, 3 suspensions for a kindergartener is silly. Something is going on with the child and the school needs to help figure out what it is. Your sister can send the school district a written request for an SST meeting. The Special Education forum on this site has some sample letters. By the way, meeting with the SD are always stressful and it is always nice to take someone along for support, so if you are available to go with your sister, that would probably help her a lot. Those meetings can be scary.

A lot of people on this site have not had a good experience with their school districts, but my family has had a generally positive experience with our public school. When money is an issue (as it often is), the school district is not a bad place to start looking for help.

An appointment with the pediatrician also seems called for.

Good luck.

nvts