Funeral attire

F

flutterbee

This may seem like a silly question, but I have no experience with this. My family doesn't do funerals. It's not that we don't go to them, it's that our family doesn't have them - except for my grandfather. I've only attended one funeral and that was when I was heavily pregnant with easy child.

I don't have anything that would resemble proper funeral attire. I have 2 pair of denim jeans that fit and some tops and sweaters. The jeans are decorated - one with a beaded floral pattern and one with dragonflies. I have no skirts that fit. Really not appropriate for a funeral.

I don't have much money and I would like to attend my neighbor's funeral. My mom insists that what I have would be fine to wear, but I'm not so sure. Our families take on funerals is much less formal and is considered a celebration of the life of the deceased. I do know that Bob and his family are very down to earth and don't put on airs, but....

Should I go to goodwill and try to find something a bit more 'appropriate'?

Jena

Honestly, it all depends on the person. Me, personally i'd wear whatever i wanted, you taking the time to be there and pay your respects, that they'll appreciate i'm sure. Id' probably just pick a top out that is darker, more blah type of shirt to mix with the jeans.

Yea, id' def go with what you have, they'll be thankful you went.

Hound dog

Nana's are Beautiful
Heather, I'd pick a nice top and pair of slacks or jeans. My family has never held to the "black" tradition. Actually, I've been to alot of funerals and have yet to see anyone who still does. Something tasteful is fine. Dressing up is not really required.

I'm sorry to hear your neighbor passed on.

((hugs))

gcvmom

Here we go again!
Well, I wouldn't wear a prom dress to a funeral... you just wear whatever you own and don't over-do it. You're there to lend support to the family, so that's what really matters.

Andy