Going to Due Process

NoMoreTrust

We have finally chosen DP. Met with the lawyer a few weeks ago, and paperwork is in the works. Unfortunately the SD would not even give eligibility after private evaluation and IEE (SD paid evaluation from 3rd party) were the same with autism. Has anyone had experiences to know what to expect leading up to and during the process?

Superpsy

Fortunately I have no personal experience with due process. We had one parent file in a district last year and the one thing I remember is that we were going to have mediation before the due process hearing. I'm pretty sure this was voluntary (mediation) and I'm pretty sure something would have been worked out. This is a good read.

Ropefree

Banned
Have your ducks in a row. Stay on topic. Repeat key points that are central to your learners needs/condition, have scripted and correct information that presents inarguable evidence of the relavance to your learner for the services,
use references that show that evidenced meathods central to successful outcomes for the conditions your learner brings to the teaching institution.
GOOD LUCK! Building a better world together that includes the people who live here.

NoMoreTrust

I'll probably purchase the video. Unfortunately the SD has not worked with us one bit. Totally pretends there is no issue. I just don't know what to expect (they cave/they fight to the last one standing/they get nasty).

Sheila

I'm so sorry it's gotten to this point. Sometimes parents are left with no other choice.

Due Process is a legal proceeding. I'd check with-my attorney before purchasing a video camera -- it may not be allowed by law. (Due Process is very different than an IEP meeting.)

Totally pretends there is no issue. I just don't know what to expect (they cave/they fight to the last one standing/they get nasty).

You must live in Texas. sigh....

wrightslaw.com does have good Due Process info. You might also want to check the archives on this site.