Good Morning Tuesday

Marguerite

G'day, folks.

We just got home after a long day. difficult child 3 had an appointment with therapist (very productive) after which we collected husband from work and headed to the regional hospital for my first appointment with the radiation oncologist.

I was an hour with the doctor. He's lovely, he really explained everything well and made it clear - I have the choices all along. I've been offered the chance to help out a research study - the only difference will be that I will start the anti-hormone medications when they say, and not immediately. It MAY still be fairly immediate, but it could be after the radiation. Info to date says that it makes no difference to long-term outcome, this is research to confirm this.

After that we had a rush shopping trip to the mall (grocery shopping plus a few other items including wool for my knitting squares) then took difficult child 3 to drama class. After drama, our usual Tuesday night dinner.

mother in law just rang (almost as soon as we got in the door) to find out how I got on at the doctor's. But no news, really.

I've not had any newer news re J (my sister in intensive care) since last night when they finally got her off the ventilator. No news is good news. We should get the final pathology report tomorrow, I'm expecting that to be bad news. It makes my cancer look minor by comparison. But the good news about J - at least she is off the ventilator for now, so she can eat, can drink and can talk to us. Also if she continues well enough, she has a good chance of going on the transplant list. She's got a fairly common blood group, but Australia doesn't have as high a rate of organ donation as we should.

What we want for her now, is time. And being able to breathe comfortably for as long as possible.