Jena

hi

so i went to dr. and he diagnosis difficult child with bipolar (not otherwise specified), adhd, and severe anxiety disorder. so there it is my ex husband is screaming and carrying on which is a nightmare for me and additional stress. i think he's going to take legal action against me at this point and try to stop me from caring for her. so ridiculous.

anyway he wants to put her on thorazine, its an old antipyschoctic drug..........and wants to add possibly klonipin to address the anxiety issues with her.

i looked up thorazine it doesn't look good.

klmno

Oh- Jen- is this thorazine, as in "the thorazine shuffle"? This doesn't sound right to me- but I'm no expert. Hopefully, some of the members with lots of medication knowledge can help you on this one.

klmno

Did he say temporarily or what? If he thinks she's BiPolar (BP), why isn't he starting with a first line MS? I think I would ask more questions before giving her a dose, but that's just me.

slsh

member since 1999
Sorry you're having to deal with ex and his problems on top of trying to help difficult child.

I have to admit, thorazine caught me way off guard. thank you was on it during the worst of the bad old days but only as a prn medication. I can't tell you what dose he was on but on the 1 or 2 times I actually got him to take it, it knocked him out cold (maybe it was a higher dose?).