Grandmother involvement gone too far

Madmom6017

This is my first time on a forum so bare with me!

A little over a year ago my son who has had multiple behavioral problems throughout high school; which have included drug use (marijuana), stealing cash and credit cards (from his dad and I and a friend's parent) and an overall lack of being a good citizen.

After multiple attempts to keep him on the right path after high school graduation (including paying for community college, cell phone and car insurance) my son decided he could not live by our rules and moved to California.

After about six weeks of failed attempts at living independently I asked him to come back to our home state and figure out what to do.

In the meantime he was having conversations with my mom, his grandmother, about living with her.

When he returned, unbenounced to us, my mom bought him a new vehicle and agreed to let him live at her home.

Fast forward a year later which brings us to present day. My husband and I have become increasingly agitated with the life lessons or lack thereof that my mom is teaching and allowing.

To date, my mom recently admitted that my son is stealing from her (at least 5 times), hasn't paid rent and hasn't paid her back for the vehicle she purchased for him. At this point, I have asked her to kick him out of her home and she refuses to do so.

I feel like I am in a very sticky situation with little leverage to interact with my son.

What should I do?

BusynMember

If your son is of legal age and your mom wont do what you asked, you cant do anything. He and she are able to do what they want based on age. Neither can be forced to do what you want or think is best. This board is all about letting go of the holds and fixes we'd like to have becsuse legally they can do what they like. Maybe its best you get this reprieve. You can use it to build your own life and interact with those who are kind to you, which you deserve.