Hello, new here

giggleseasy

Glad I'm not alone.
Hello, my name is Diane and I am a single mom of 2 daughters, one is 5 and the other is 8, I am also a full time college student. My 5 year old daughter was recently diagnosed with O.D.D., and Post Traumatic Stress, and I am at a loss as to help her. My 8 year old is perfectly well mannered and well behaved, and she suffers the wraith of my 5 year old more than anyone else. I don't know what to do, I don't want to have to put her on medicines, does anyone have any advice?:faint:

JulienSam

Diane --

Welcome! I don't have much advice since we've just recently started our journey, but many of the other parents on this site have a great deal of knowledge since they've "been there, done that". Just know that you're not alone!

((HUGS))

Julie

BusynMember

Who diagnosed her? What symptoms does she have?
Are there are psychiatric problems or substance abuse on the family tree? Does she make good eye contact, know how to socialize with other little peers, have good speech, imaginative play? Tell us a little more about what you are seeing and who has diagnosed her. Welcome!

GinAndTonic

Yup, difficult child = Gift From God. Our special kids.It's probably not how most of us think of our kids when we're posting here... easy child = Perfect Child, i.e. one who doesn't have any issues related to this board.

giggleseasy

Glad I'm not alone.
Who diagnosed her? What symptoms does she have?
Are there are psychiatric problems or substance abuse on the family tree? Does she make good eye contact, know how to socialize with other little peers, have good speech, imaginative play? Tell us a little more about what you are seeing and who has diagnosed her. Welcome!