Help...Red Wine Advice

DDD

My company arrives tomorrow noon. She drinks good red wine. :sigh: I know alot, lol, about Scotch but zip about wine. Help.

I don't want to spend a mint but it has to be high quality. I'm serving salad, salmon with dill sauce, roasted asparagus and wild rice. I'm sure that wine is suppose to match the menu. Right?

She'll be at our house (almost ready...double sigh) for three days. We have a local ABC that carries a wide variety of wine so picking it up should be easy. Come to think of it maybe I should buy small bottles so it is fresh each day? Thursday night is going to be beef or pork chops with sauteed mushrooms, baked potatoes and some fresh vegetable....maybe need a different one?

Thank heavens for the CD family. There are always experts around. DDD

klmno

Well. I'm no expert at all on this but I thought white wine was typically served with fish and red wine with red meat. If that's true, maybe a blush or rose with dinner then a dry red wine (cabernet or merlot- I think) for after dinner.

Mattsmom277

I've always had guidance with wine from the staff when I purchase. I usually mention my budget, the menu and in your case I'd point out the guests "know" their wine. They can usually give good advice.

Alternately, how about since you are being so thoughtful to be considerate of your guests tastes, ask them? Mention that you know how much they enjoy wine and are hoping to experiment during their visit with trying to expand your horizons since you've never learned much about wines. Mention the menus and ask them to suggest what kind of wine they'd recommend and enjoy. Putting it that way helps the guests know you are eager yourself to try some new dinner drinks and ensures you don't stress about it too. It's stressful enough as hostess! No shame in saying you haven't experimented much with wines.

klmno