Hi I am new and I have a child with ADHD and ODD

S

So stressed

Hi, I am new to this. I have a 7 yr old son with ADHD and ODD. I am looking for some suggestions on how to handle the extreme disrespect and defiance that I am encountering. I must admit that I lost my cool the other day and allowed him to push me over the edge and he got his mouth washed out with soap. We have just started seeing a new family therapist but you know how it takes time. I am just at my wits end and I feel awful that I dread spending any time with my child. I also have an older daughter who is 12 who takes alot of the brunt of his misbehavior. I should add that to complicate matters I am separated from my husband. We share 50/50 custody. The kids stay 1 week with me and 1 with him. He ofcourse tells me that he doesnt have the same problems with our son that I do.
Any suggestions on discipline or reading material. We have been fighting this battle for some time and I have tried many different types of positive reward systems and we are on our 3rd therapist.
I must appologize if I am doing this wrong, like I said I am new and I dont know what all the abbreviations stand for. Like difficult child?

Thanks for any suggestions!

So stressed!

LittleDudesMom

Good Morning Stressed,

the only thing you could have added to your first post was a profile signature like you see on the bottom of our posts. It gives us a little background and family information that is helpful in remembering the details of a member's difficult child/situation.

Couple questions - Your son is 7 - how long has he been diagnosis'd with adhd? Has he been on, or his he currently on, medications for adhd? How does he do in school? Does he have any buddies?