I feel like giving up! HELP!

This is my first time reaching out in this way so forgive me if I leave out necessary details.

I have a 7 year old little girl. She is the oldest of 2 children. She was tested and diagnosed as ADHD. Unlike most cases, there are no developmental delays or issues. She is actually the opposite. She is almost TOO intelligent. She flies through work that is given to her, she has tested 3 grades above her grade level. But then there is the other side....
She is a nightmare. She lies, steals, fights, destroys property and possibly worst of all, shows absolutely NO remorse for it.

It scares me. I have tried every parenting technique suggested. I did have to medicate my child but it is closely monitored and I am doing all I can to ensure the right balance of medications. She speaks with a child psychologist weekly. NONE of these things help.
I have explained to her more times than I can count what will happen to her if she continues her behavior. And once again, there is no remorse. She is unfeeling. She does not care about anything, so punishment is like a joke. There is nothing that seems to matter to her so when you try and take it away as a means of behavior modification, it does not even register.

As the days go by, she gets smarter and her defiance grows. Her intelligence makes her defiance so frightening because she is so cunning and manipulative. She has NEVER slept through the night so I wake up to all kinds of destruction around the house. I have set alarms all around in an attempt to prevent her going into dangerous place but she knows how to avoid/get around them.
I am at my wits end. I have NO clue what to do or where to turn. I have called the police and had them try and scare her straight. That failed. I just feel like giving up.
I know this is just a shot in the dark but does ANYONE out there have any suggestions?

Last edited:

aeroeng

Mom of Three