I need HELP with my difficult son

kaydeec

Hi all

Im new to this but desperate for advice and some help...my son has just turned 5. He is a lovely boy who is kind and popular...however saying this most of the time he is also out of control. Since he was born he was extremely quick with all his milestones and people always commented on this however he was also always hyperactive and always seemed to be doing everything louder, quicker more dangerously etc! He seems to be on autocharge all the time. My husband and I struggled as family could not cope with him and so did not offer to babysit or give us a break. Now that he is 5 nothing has changed but he is defiant strong willed and always on the go. He is boistrous and extremely active and seems rebellious and very impulsive. He is always hurting his friends in rough and tumble fighting (which he thinks is playing). He will not do anything such as bath, brush teeth, get dressed, sit at the table, basically anything we expect from him and we are constantly from morning to night arguing with him about this we just can't get through to him....have tried naughty steps, reward charts, sending him to his room, taking toys,tv away and am constantly praising the good behaviour. From morning to night it is a constant battle. I have stopped bringing his friends over because he either thinks its funny to smash his toys up or throw them out the window or over thw wall run around the house destroying things or argues with his friends for playing with his things, etc. We are so exhausted as we have now had our second child who is 6 months. My older boy is good with his younger brother and since we try to still make sure my older boy is getting most of the attention (so he doesn't get jelouse) this doesn't seem to be an issue. School don't see a problem and say he is a quiet young man who doesn't assert himself enough. He is quiet in class but not interested in reading or writting..to me and my husband we have always suspected ADD