I need some support for me!

bby31288

I was prescribed Oxy for pain, and began to take it recreationally. I have been using for 7 months. Today is day 4 of cold turkey. The original pain that I had is pretty much gone, which is good. But the urge to take just one more is killing me. The first two days were pure hell, I have made it this far..please help me not to take one today. I know I can do it.

Calamity Jane

You can do it! I'm not sure about Oxy, but do you need a doctor's supervision, or are you supposed to stop cold turkey? Either way, you made it through the hardest part so far, which is recognizing your problem, and getting thru the first few days. Do whatever it takes support-wise to continue on this path. You're very brave!

bby31288

Thanks Jane. I am so ashamed. My family has no idea. They just think I was sick all weekend. I told them I didn't know what was wrong with me. There is no one to tell this too.

Tiredof33

bby,
I am shocked at the number of people I have met at the gym (very small town) that are having problems with pain medications.

We are talking about good, honest, hark working people - JUST LIKE YOU!!!!!

Please don't be ashamed - and they don't have to know if it embarrassess you. I'll check here every hour to give you support. I have a meeting to attend about 4:30 pm - everyone right now is focused on Easter. You just focus on you.

I foolishly started smoking when I let 3 smoking female coworkers convince me it would calm my nerves - hubby picked up a hitcher and moved in with her when I was pregnant - can we say LOSER lol!!!!

Anyway, quiting was the hardest thing I have done in my life - I tried everything and nothing worked I finally quit cold turkey. I dreamed about cigarettes, I gained about 30 pounds and had high blood pressure and nausea. My doctor told me for some people it is more addicting than herion. I agreed with him! Now I can't believe I ever smoked.