IEP Efficiency Question from a SpEd Teacher

C

CoachB

I have been a HS teacher for 12 years and recently got a masters in sped and a job teaching mid school resource. I have run 4 or 5 IEP meetings so far and today had a particularly grueling 3 hour IEP that involved 10 people for an11 year old with ADHD. Everyone was prepared and all technology worked, there was just that much discussion. My question to parents, is what suggestions would you have for a case manager /IEP meeting leader to make the best use of everyone’s time and ensure that needs are being addressed.

lmf64

Ask the parents for their input. Don't think you have all the answers (I'm not saying that you do, but often it seems like school officials do). Remember that you have the kids for 8 hours a day max, 5 days a week max, 9 months of the year and the parents have them the rest of the time. Think outside of the box when it comes to solving problems. Remember that the district may have to spend some money to ensure that the children have what they need to succeed and we can't afford xxx is not an answer that should ever be uttered.

H

HaoZi

I couldn't have said it better. Listen to the parents, listen to the kid, and take them seriously.

SRL

I appreciate that you took the time to come here and ask this. It's hard for everyone involved when the meetings are lengthy.

Some things I appreciated as a parent:

Make sure the student's file is up to date.

When major evaluations or reports are done, have individual staff member meet with parent ahead of time to go over report with them, and to give them a written copy. This will save a lot of time.

Give advance copy of draft IEP to parents so they can review and make suggestions for changes to the accomodations or goals.