IEP today

DS3

Wish me luck. Going to go over the evaluation that they did (which varies from other outside testing). They did say he qualifies for an IEP and not a 504. Suggestion is to have him in speech therapy for 1/2 hour twice a week. He only goes for half a day, so I wasn't expecting anything too excessive. Which means that our insurance should cover an additional outside speech therapist.

I do have an advocate going with us. Since this is my first time doing anything of the sort, it shall be interesting.

So wish us luck. :) I'll let you know how we make out.

DS3

DS3

We made out well. They did qualify him for speech therapy. He'll be seen twice a week in half hour time intervals. Being that he only goes half a day, it's understandable. The completed document will be ready for me on Monday following the Thanksgiving break. Everyone was very nice and encouraging of everything I am doing for my son as well as how well he is doing. He has improved significantly since the start of the school year, and they are hoping to continue to see his progress through out the rest of the school year. There's no BIP since everything he does is considered Age Appropriate and they don't see the bad behavior at school that we see at home. I guess that's a good thing. So overall, made out well. When I have the document in hand I can probably add more in regards to specifics. But that's the low down for now. And we're good for another year!

JJJ

Glad it went so well!

I do find it odd that you did not walk out of the meeting with the document in hand. Please be sure to read over whatever they give you very carefully to ensure there were no 'misunderstandings'

T

TeDo

JJJ, I never walk out with a copy either. Our sd doesn't write one up until the meeting is over. All the "suggestions" they have for programming and accommodations are never in writing, it is always verbal at the meeting.