I'm heartbroken

F

flutterbee

I've been wrestling with this decision for a couple of months, but it's gotten to the point where I have to act.

I have to take Baby Kitty (her name is Holly, but we've always called her Baby Kitty) to the humane society today. :crying: She's always been an odd cat and I've never bonded with her like with my other pets, but I'm just devastated. The vet thinks she may have been orphaned and bottle raised and not properly socialized. (We adopted her from the humane society at 3 months. She's 8 years old now.) She needs to be in a home with no other cats.

Her behavior recently has been erratic. She is going after my other cats in a big way. She starts it and then is the one that ends up wounded and I can't afford the vet bills. And I've tried everything I know to try to calm things down and change the behavior. Nothing has worked. She goes after Baby Abbey and then Puddles goes after her in Abbey's defense. Baby Abbey has kidney disease and the humane society would just put her down. And Baby Abbey is too little to defend herself. She's 6 months old and the kitten collar fastened on the last hook just now fits her.

I just hate this. If anyone has any ideas, I'll gladly try them. I don't want to do this. :crying:

You asked for ideas.

You did not say they had to be good ones.

Is there a room/basement/area in the house that Holly can be put in?

Some years ago, when our cat Kitana was fixed, her brother Johnny Cage would NOT leave her alone, so we had to put him in the basement while she healed. We got one extra litter box and food dish, and we all took turns spending time with him throughout the day.

Yes? No?

I hope we can figure something out. In case I haven't mentioned it, I heart kitty cats.

<span style='font-family: Comic Sans MS'>=^..^=</span>

F

flutterbee