Is there always a reason?

ciounoi

Hi there,

I've posted on this site before, I'm a long-term substitute teacher in a middle school emotional support classroom. :)

I was wondering about something. I work (and I'm sure you live with) with a lot of kids with severe behaviors. Most of the behaviors tend to take the same forms - defiance, not accepting responsibility, aggression, etc. My students come from a variety of different backgrounds - some of them have parental support, enough to eat, and stable home lives, but others do not. Is there always some kind of a reason for acting out? Could some of these kids just be bad kids? (Just a question, not suggesting I believe it!). Or is there always some kind of trauma or attachment problem or processing issue that makes kids act up?

Any thoughts?

T

TeDo

I will be the first to say that there IS such a thing as just bad kids but for 99% of kids with behavior issues, there is a reason. It could be simple and it could be complex. In our case, difficult child 1 has MANY mental health issues and some early trauma that has made things harder for him. For difficult child 2 (twin), he just has minor mental health issues and some of the same trauma but he's also more resilient. There are a LOT of variables to take into consideration.

Good question.

DaisyFace

Love me...Love me not
Thank you for this question!

YES there is a reason - but no, it's not always as simple as bad parenting, or instability at home, or abuse, or anything easy to see...

I think that many times it is brain development gone off-course. That might mean Autism or Fetal Alcohol Syndrome - but it can also be an inherited Mental Illness or issues developing due to early exposure to environmental toxins. There is so much about brain development that we still just don't know - and there are so many chemicals and drugs and additives and things in our air and our water and our food....who knows the cumulative effect?

susiestar

Roll With It