Just new here - saying "Hi"

Asheilah

This is my first time here and it is really good to know that there are other people out there feeling the same way that I am. Sometimes it feels like nobody else in the entire world could possibly understand what this feels like. Some good days and some bad days and some worse than others. Today is just a bad day so I'm glad to have somewhere to go to feel a little more normal. Just hoping that I can also share some good days too.

:smile:

jannie

trying to survive....
Wecome !! I love your avatar !! Please tell us a bit more about your teen so that we can better help you and provide support. We definately can relate to your troubles !!

Asheilah

Let me start by saying that this is really my first time talking to anyone outside of a doctor or my husband about this, so it is really not that easy - as I'm sure you can all relate to.
My daughter is 15, going on 30, and was diagnosed with ODD about 3 years ago. It seems that about this time every year, she seems to go through a bad spell. Compared to the way that she was 3 years ago before her diagnosis, today is about 1000% improvement. But every now and then she seems to take a turn for the worse and just has some major setback. She refuses to talk to me about it, but chooses to just yell instead. Thinks the whole world is against her, feels totally abnormal but is very resistent to any sort of help.

smallworld

Is your daughter on any medications? What kind of doctor diagnosed her? Is it possible that school causes her anxiety and depression, and that's why this time of year is more difficult for her?

Just so you know, ODD is generally not a stand-alone diagnosis but a decription of behaviors that is fueled by an underlying cause. Once the underlying cause is identified and treated, the ODD behaviors typically subside.

Welcome! You will find a lot of support here.

Asheilah