LDM - Pulled Pork Recipe

jal

Sharon,

Your recipe on the Fri morning thread gave me a hankering! I've always wanted to make pulled pork. I am an adventurous cook, but for no known reason I never have tried it. The shoulder is in the brine right now and I am dying to have it for dinner tomorrow. Thank you for sharing! I may hit you up for your Chinese version too!

LittleDudesMom

jal,

my house smelled so good yesterday! I cooked it yesterday to serve today. Only thing, I made a tad of a "boo boo" on mine. I didn't read my spice jars as I was making a TRIPLE batch of the rub - I used HOT chili powder AND Cayenne pepper. When I pulled it last night I took a bite and said, "Oh, hot!"

Now I like mine spicy, but I prefer to allow folks to add their own heat. So mine had a lot of juice still - I poured off the fat, took the juice, combined it with equal parts of water and the added some brown sugar. I took that mixture and poor it over the already-pulled pork and popped it in the fridge. I will reheat it on a really low heat this afternoon. I just finished prepping all the condiments for dinner. We like sautéed onions, brown rice, black beans, lettuce, salsa and cheese on mine. I also make a sauce with fat free sour cream mixed with minced fresh jalapeno (not as hot as the pickled), minced read onion, and cumin.

The best thing about this is that it seems to get better with "age". It freezes great and I usually cook it the day before. Glad I did this time since it was a tad on the hot side!

Let me go ahead and give you the chinese bbq receipe -

4 pound pork roast
1/2 C soy sauce (I always use light because of the sodium)
1/2 C hoisin sauce
6 T ketchup
6 T honey
2 t chinese 5 spice powder
2 t garlic powder (or 6 cloves minced - I used fresh)