Living in a state of perpetual Crisis with 9 year old ADHD/ odd daughter

cbrinke

Hi- I am a parent of a 9 year old ADHD girl. She has a 13 year old sister and a three year old brother. Dad travels 4 days a week and I am a stay at home mother, previous ESE teacher. I really feel for the single mothers that I see posting on this thread because there are times when I feel like I just want to run away because I am so stressed out with the constant arguing, outbursts and emotional mood swings. I am certain that I am depressed. I have read that mothers of ADHD kids tend to alienate themselves from their child because they feel hopeless and I can empathize with this. Being a former teacher, I am a fairly strict parent and it seems that this is the worst thing for an ODD child. I have learned to pick my battles, not hold the ADHD/ODD child as accountable as my other children- just to keep the peace in the house. My husband comes home from his traveling refreshed and will get onto her about trivial things that I have just given up on and so I am forced to deal with the fallout that I am trying to avoid.