Looking for advice concerning my 13-year-old

SadFlower

Hi,

I have been reading this forum for a while and I really feel for all you mothers and fathers out there who are dealing with issues similar to my own.... I want to start by saying that I really appreciate all the wisdom I've read so far.

I'm a 39-year-old advertising manager, recently divorced, with two daughters. I'm here because I've found out about a month ago that my 13 years old daughter is smoking weed. She's a smart kid, skipped one grade, always very successful... but I think the divorce (which was pretty ugly) was hard on her. Add to that moving to a new city and being adopted (which she's always struggled with). I've always tried talking to her and letting her know that she could always talk to me, and she did use to share some of her feelings but recently it's been a no go.

We're fighting almost every day now. I found out that she keeps smoking weed despite her drug screens coming out clear (I have no idea how she does that) and her sister told me that she saw her sneaking out. I've sent her to a therapist who told me after three sessions that the problem is me being too "demanding"; right now I'm looking for a different therapist.

Other than getting her into therapy, not giving her money, punishing her, and drug testing her, what more can I do? I am desperate and I would love to hear anything you have to offer. Right now I would do just about anything. Thank you.

InsaneCdn

Thirteen. I'm guessing, if she skipped a year, grade 9? Yikes! Hormones, teenage pressure, and spending all her time with older kids. Add some additional life stress - the divorce, plus a major move, two of the biggest stressors in life - and... It's not hard to see where she's coming from.

Adoption muddies the waters. These kids already feel like misfits, even when they love their families and are in stable environments.