Looking for families to participate in an ADHD study

Joy Landwehr

Researcher
Hi forum users,

My name is Joy Landwehr and I am a doctoral student at Harvard University's Graduate School of Education. As a licensed social worker, I am interested in studying the everyday experiences of children with ADD/ADHD and their parents; of particular interest is how youth with ADD/ADHD respond to conflicts and social situations. I have communicated with the moderators of this board and after reviewing the goals of my study, they have given me permission to post a recruitment notice in this forum.

I am specifically looking for families who fit the following criteria:

• Have at least one child between the ages of 10 to 15 who has been diagnosed with ADD/ADHD. The diagnosis has to have been officially made by a pediatrician, school psychologist, psychiatrist, or other licensed professional.
  • Live in the greater Boston area, elsewhere in Massachusetts, Vermont, New Hampshire, Connecticut, Rhode Island, or possibly the Chicago area
  • Have one hour of time to spare

Participation simply involves you and your child filling out a series of surveys over a one-hour period. The one time meeting can be set up at your home or you can visit me at my office in Cambridge, MA. This study does not involve any type of medical or behavioral treatments. Your participation is confidential and will not be shared with other members of this online community (unless you choose to make such information public).

In exchange for one hour of you and your child's time, you will receive your choice of a $10 gift card to either Target or the iTunes online store.

If you would like to participate in this study or have any questions, please email me at [email protected] and put "ADHD study" in the subject line. Please also feel free to pass along this information to other families who meet the criteria noted above.

Thank you for your consideration,

Joy Landwehr

JJJ