my sister's 17 year old daughter - runaway

virginiabreeze

I am a newbie and just found this site.

I am at a loss as to how to be supportive/helpful to my sister. My sister's 17 year old daughter has been a runaway for the last 7 months. My sister has found out that her daughter no longer attends school and is living with a boyfriend.

It kills me to hear the pain that my sister is in. But, it seems like there is nothing I can say that is helpful to her.

From what I can tell, our mother, brothers & sisters are all pretty sick of the 'drama'. I don't want to turn my back on my sister, but it is frustrating to try and give her what I think is loving & helpful advise - and have her 'turn' on me with a lot of anger & resentment.

What can I do? I live in another state, and don't get to see her.

DaisyFace

Love me...Love me not
Hello and welcome--

"Loving and helpful advise" from well-meaning but un-informed family members is rather a hot-button issue for parents of difficult children....which may be why you are getting such hostility in return.

Rather than offering advice - I wonder if you could offer your sister a non-judgmental ear...or just love and support...?

She may be suffering far more than you truly understand.

virginiabreeze

Hi DaisyFace - you are so right. My poor sister asks "What would I do" and I try to explain to her that I haven't a clue. I have a 'perfect child' - he's really isn't, but compared to my niece, I realize I'm sooo blessed.

My sister has tried everything. She has been in family counseling, she has been a very hands on mother, she has done everything for her daughter. My sister has reached out to our large extended family for support and intervention - and that has not worked out very well for her. I guess that unless you are experiencing and living 'it', words are just empty and painful. I am shocked at the anger this 'drama' has stirred up within our family of origin (3 sisters, 4 brothers, and elderly mother).