My work...

K

Kjs

I am so sad. upset. Grrrrrr.

I applied for a job in another department, as did 4 other operators. I have many, many years experience (others are young). But I have only been at this company 2 years. Others have been here 7 - 10 years. I didn't get the job. I am not upset about that.

We work 12 hour shifts. Two operators midnight to noon(me) and two operators noon to midnight.

There are two operators that are not employees and actually work through Manpower as contractors. no benefits. We all assumed who ever got the two jobs, the contractors would be hired.

Nope. I was called down to the big boss's office yesterday. I was told who got the job. I am fine with that. Then I was asked if I would work Noon to Midnight. (both of the operators who got the job work that shift). I told him no. I worked second shift before and that just doesn't work out. I was told because I have the least seniority, I WILL be working noon to midnight. They are not filling those positions. The contractors will work 6pm - 6am. So, my partner now (who never comes to work) will work alone from 6am to noon. I will come in and work alone until 6pm.

This means no baseball games. I won't be there after school. I'll get home about 1am and IF I went directly to bed and fell asleep, I would have to get up and bring difficult child to school. Then get ready and head back to work. Less sleep.

I would rather work 6pm - 6am.