Need Advice--newbie here

lovemychocolate

My just turned 8 year old son started showing signs of ODD around age 6. He started showing blatant defiance in various situations like to go to the store with- mom or dad, or some mornings he didn't want to go to school. We thought we merely had a willful child. These same situations progressed from ds whining to him screaming and crying and hiding somehwhere in the house. Sometimes he'd cry or scream for hours non-stop. I timed it once, but just learned to deal with it. He started being noticably mean to his little sister and his older brother. He hated when his little sister sang in the car. That would start him on a screaming episode.

We moved out of state when ds was 7 and while he liked school, he started acting out in the new school. This was new. This progressed to him refusinng to participate in school period. He would hide in his cubbie until found. Some days the teacher would let him sit under her desk or in a handmade tent. He would go there when he was frustrated or overwhelmed. I had no idea what was wrong. I thought this was ds way of acting out for moving from the home he loved. The school asked for a meeting and they came up with a reward sheet that I would do at home. (yeah, now I see how little they wanted to do.)

FF to today, we took our son to a private psychologist and wasn't pleased with this man. I wasn't impressed with his lack luster approach. husband is very relucant to go though another psychologist again. I read Dr. Greene's book, "The Explosive Child" and found it fascinating. Fit my son to a T. I did submit an email to set up for a consult with him, by the way.

BUT, what I'm wondering now is how to proceed with the school. From what I've read now and what I understand is that I can ask that my son be tested in order to get an iep. Is that correct?? Can I do this verbally, or does it need to be sent certified mail??