NEED HELP NOW!

Arttillygirl

I am at an internet cafe because my son (16) won't let me turn on the internet box which is, unhappily, located in his room.

He is an aspiring rapper and was doing much better, we had found the right medications and he has the lead in a school play and even joined wrestling last week.

Problem is we are requiring clean music. If he cusses, he bleeps it out. That was a good meeting halfway, I thought. Now he made a rap video and it clearly says F*****ing in it. He put it on the internet and sent it to all his friends at the Christian school where I am a teacher.

He broke my mouse when I unplugged the computer while trying to discuss this with him. and now we cannot access the internet in the house.

I guess he's going to ruin Thanksgiving tomorrow too. My 84 year old aunt has cooked for days and I'll bet he'll refuse to come and I fear leaving him at home alone (what he'll do to our house)

HELP my next step is cancelling internet which will hurt us.
I have passworded his myspace so he cannot do that again.

Hi, welcome to the site.

How about taking the internet box out of his room? No way a teen should have sole access to the computer. As far as rapping goes, he broke the agreement, he loses, no more rap. That's it, that's all. Does your husband stand united with you on these issues?

There is also no way I would leave him home alone at 15 if you are afraid he might destroy the house. If violence is an issue, call the police.

Sara PA

Your son is on two antidepressants. Antidepressants can cause anger, aggression, hostility and violence in teens especially. Even after they have done well for a few weeks or months, these behaviors can begin to appear and it goes downhill. If your son is having that adverse psychiatric reaction to the antidepressants he's taking, the appropriate treatment is discontinuation of the antidepressants, not adding new ones.

Arttillygirl