Need laptop suggestions

Nancy

I am looking for a new laptop and would love your suggestions, pros and cons. I currently have a Dell XPS 15z and don't like it for many reasons. I don't play games or do video editting, I use it for emails, websurfing, downloading photos, and most of all to go on this board ;)

InsaneCdn

I've run just about every brand their is... and don't have a favorite.
The fact that every keyboard is different drives me insane, though - qwerty is standard, but the other buttons are not (pg up/pg down, home/end, etc.)

DO get the biggest screen you can - or the biggest you can cart around, if you do much of that.

Nancy

It's interesting you say that about the screen size because mine is 15" now and I don't need anything larger. There was a time when I thought I wanted as large as I could afford but now I woud rather have portability so I can sit in front of the tv with it on my lap and be comfortable. Also the lighter the better.

InsaneCdn

Nancy, I'm a tech head.
I have so many windows open that nobody else in the house can even stand to watch over my shoulder...
So... yes, I need max landscape.
But mine doens't get toted around much.

If you want to make it lighter... get the DVD drive as an external - plug in when you need it, which is probably rare.

rejectedmom

Nancy I do not know what your budget is but honestly I have had many computers over the years and my first was an APPLE and I loved it but then went easy child (windows) and I hate them. I shut off the windows updates but window overrides me anyway and then the computer doesn't work properly. I find myself restoring the system a couple times a month as a result. I would just get a small APPLE if your budget allows for it. I am saving up to get back into one but due to my graphics needs (art photography) it will cost me a small fortune because I will need all new professional level software. I wish I never switched. -RM

DammitJanet