Need wireless internet advice

Nancy

My difficult child just moved into her own apartment and is on a very limited budget. We found internet service available through one of the big internet companies for $19.99 a month but it's not wireless. It would cost more for wireless and she doesn't have that. So my questionis, can she buy her own wireless router and plug that into the outlet and get wireless in her apartment or does still have to pay the extra to the internet provider?

I have wireless in my home but I am very rusty on these old internet issues.

Nancy

InsaneCdn

can she buy her own wireless router and plug that into the outlet and get wireless in her apartment
Well.... technically, yes.
But.
If that's ALL she does, then everybody around her has access to wireless, too... through HER line/wireless combo.
If you're setting this up, it requires all sorts of security stuff to be in place.
I'm a tech-head, and it's too complex and time-consuming for me to figure out how to make all the bits and pieces work together and be secure enough... so, we don't have wireless.

Caveat... FIRST check the contract details... and see if the provider allows this... because not everything technically possible is actually allowed...

Nancy

We have a wireless router that easy child used when she was student teaching in North Carolina and they give you a security code to protect your service. Wouldn't that work?

Nancy

S

Signorina