Neuro psychiatric Evaluation Questions

humbleyourheart

We finally received the results of our neuro psychiatric evaluation and I have a follow up with the doctor tomorrow to go over them. Basically her recommendation is bipolar with an attentional component. I may be in denial, but I feel like there is more to the test results. I wondering how much of her recommendation is based on our input rather than the test results. I have limited knowledge as to what any of it means and I don't want to insult her with all of my questions so I'm wondering if someone can help me out.

The WISC-IV test indicated a low-average on all measures of motor processing speed (PSI = 85, 16th percentile). To me that seems really low and could explain a lot, but a learning disorder isn't indicated.

The WJ-III test showed suppression of his scores on tasks that were timed, particularly math fluency.

The CMS indicated mild executive dysfunction and working memory difficulties, but no memory deficit.

Her findings for these tests say he may have slowness due to fatigue caused by medicine and his perfectionistic tendencies. While his teacher has noted his being tired at school since starting the medicine he is definitely NOT TIRED at home. He is full on energy as soon as he hits the door. He has had a problem since 1st grade with being very slow from his work and has always required extra time to get his work done, but we did not start medications until just this year (3rd grade).

She also tested for Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASD). Taken together the scores did not indicate presence of Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASD) she says. But one of the scores falling into that range are being explained due to him having flat affect. This was the reciprocal social interaction portion. His score was 5 which is noted between the autism and autism spectrum scores. I honestly don't think this child has flat affect. He can and does get very excited about things.