Neuro psychiatric evaluation scheduled - NEW TO ALL THIS!

sjomcg

New here. Feeling more alone and isolated all the time from difficult child's (almost 9 yrs) increasingly difficult behavior.
Just made appointment for neuro pshch evaluation today. We have NO social/medical history from B4 age 15 months for him. What kind of things will they be able to find/tell us? This is all so new.
So happy (like I can not express) to have found this site! Can't wait to dive in and learn more.
THANK YOU FOR BEING HERE!

Chaosuncontained

Welcome!! There are others who can tell you that a neuro psychiatric can give you amazing help and answers. I have no experience with a neuro )sych. Carson is being evaluated by a clinical psychiatric next week.

You are in a good place. I was totally clueless when I got here (not too long ago)--but the ladies here have given me info and support that is inmeasurable.

Good luck to you!! (PS: Come here as often as you need to...I'm here daily LOL)

sjomcg

Thank you! Clueless is a good way to describe me for more than just forums but I will get the hang of it. LOL! We have been seeing a clinical psychiatric and he finally scratched his head and sent us to the neuro psychiatric. We'll see. I would just like some direction in how to handle and help our child while parenting our younger ones too. They seem to get the short end of the stick a lot of the time even though we try not to.

BusynMember

Hi. Glad you stopped by, but sorry you had to come. Multiple adoptive mom here.

I wondered if your child lived in an orphanage before he was adopted and if he has attachment problems. What sort of things do you see with your child? Older-adopted kids from foster care or orphanages often have a lot of problems. A neuropsychologist should be able to check for everything, even without a history. Of course, it is always easier when you do know about the child's genetics.

Welcome and keep posting. I check in pretty often too :)

sjomcg

Hi Midwest!