New. And scared

kalli

Hi there,

My 5 yr old son was just diagnosed by a neurological psychiatric with ODD. I am seeing the therapist today for the first time, any tips? I need a plan something to try and to follow. I am nervous that our house is always going to be stressful and a battle ground. Does this get better over time? Or am I totally deluding myself.

He does not have any other issues he scored above average on all cognitive tests, he did have a stroke in utero which is why we got the testing done.

Thanks so much,

kalli

Malika

Welcome. It seems to me - and I am very far from being an expert, I'm afraid :) - that if ALL your son has is ODD, then that can be dealt with by behavioural methods, such as those set out in the book called "The Explosive Child". It seems unusual for that to be the only diagnosis. Others will more knowledge will have more advice.

Ktllc