New diagnosis

Pitario

Hi everyone,

I am new to all of this and am currently crying out for advise. I have not confided, todays news, to my family or friends. Why? I don't know how. Long story short:

My daughter, age 9, had a traumatic birth. She was starved for air but at he time all tests came back okay, no damage done. She was diagnosed with ADHD in grade 1 and has been on 3 different types of medications to date. Currently on Concerta which is working very well for anxiety and a little on the impulsiveness. Last year I asked the school to do psychiatric testing because I felt there was an underlying "something" that was being missed. The psychiatric tests came back and I had my meeting today. daughter also suffers from a mild intellectual disability. Focusing mostly on social skills. We are working with a social worker currently and I will be taking a copy of the report to my daughter's doctor. She is currently on an IEP and will be staying on this but it will be made a permanent part of her record through an IPRC.

Now a little about me. I'm tired, stressed and am unsure on how to handle my personal relationships from here on out. I work with the Developmentally Disabled, now isn't that ironic. I am a single Mom, 45, and am just starting a new relationship...the first since the birth of my daughter. We have been dating for 6 months, he also works with the developmentally disabled and is a "trying to" recover alcoholic. Who has fallen off the wagon 3 times in as many weeks. I care for this man very much but don't want to bite off more than I can chew.

I know nobody can tell me what to do, but I have no idea what the road ahead is going to be like with my daughter. I need to talk to my boyfriend about this but I am ashamed. I know what happened to daughter is not my fault but I am unsure on how to approach the subject.

I'm sorry if this is all jumbled and makes no sense but that's kind of how my brain is working right now :confused: