new here

datgurlb

datgurlb
Hi I am new to this but anything would help.. I have a 10 year old son who since was four and started school have had behavoir problems I was always told because he is one of three boys he is 10 I also have a 9 and 8 years old. any who this school year has been extremely rough yesterday I took my 10 year old to see a thearpist and they prescribed invega and zoloft i have been reading and its for schisophrenia. I am confused and looking just to understand

BusynMember

Hi, there and welcome.

First of all, it would help us if we had more of a background. Who diagnosed your son? Has he ever seen a neuropsychologist?

I swear, they come up with the silliest reasons why our kids behave like they do, especially when they are not the type of professionals who know how to test. I have three sons too and none of them have ever been in a fight (that I know of :redface:). Two are grown and one is 16. Violence or aggression from any child is a red flag that something is going on--but testing is the best way to find out what it is. It's not YOUR fault or "bad parenting." I have a few questions to help you start. Also, you may want to do a signature, like I did belowl.

1/How was his early development? Did he cuddel, make strong eye contact (even with strangers?), play with toys the right way, interact appropriately with his same-age peers, speak on time? Did he have any sensitivities to foods, clothes, loud noise? Any strange repetitive movements like arm flapping or lining things up in a row or making high-pitched screechy noises or smacking lips? How does he do in school? What sets him off? Can he transition well from one activity to another? Is he obsessed with anything, like overly consumed with computers?

2/Are there any psychiatric or substance abuse issues on either side of his family tree?

I'm sure the medications have nothing to do with schizophrenia. They are often used for other things as well.