New to it all!

JLady

A ship lost in the night
Hello. I just knew there had to be some sort of parent support group out here on the web. I've been searching for weeks! :anxious:

I have a 6 (almost 7) year old son that has been diagnoised with ADHD and ODD. I'm new to all of this and I've read just enough to confuse myself beyond restoration. There is almost too much information on these topics on the web. It appears to me that all the information is contradicting.

My son has me at the end of my rope. After complaints from all directions, the school, people at church, in the neighborhood, on the bus, his siblings, and everyone my son would come in contact with, I decided something had to be done.

I took him to a pediatrician with whom I'm not too impressed. He started him on Vyvanse and recommends that he see a psychatrist. I don't understand what is going on. Each time I call the pediatrician to ask questions he tells me to take my son to a psychatrist. Why can't he just answer my questions?

Since starting the medications my son is better in school. Actually the last three weeks have been a dream in comparison to what they were. However, he is extremely emotional. When he gets upset you can't even consule him. I have read a lot about ADHD and some on ODD. ODD is the thing that confuses me. From what I've read, all kids have ODD. And someone please tell me how a doctor can diagnois all of this from paperwork the school filled out.

I'm so glad to have found a group. Please help me if you can.

Thanks.
JLady

BusynMember