Newbie here and glad I've found you

Renea

Hello!

I'm a stay at home mom to two boys. My difficult child? is my 8 year old son. He has had issues since birth and after countless doctors, therapist, psychiatrist, developmental pediatrician and pediatric neurologist, the diagnoses that is sticking at the moment is Asperger's and ADHD. In the past he has had major sensory issues, extreme irritability and fits of horrible agression. He would get so upset over tiny things that other kids would have never even noticed and he would go through these fits of rage (daily) where he would hit, kick, scream, throw, pull my hair.. you name it. He would bang his head on walls, floors, tell teachers he wanted to kill himself. He is currently doing pretty good. He has been taking prozac for about 18 months now and that has helped stable him enough so that we could get him into therapy. Before the medications, he was physically attacking the therapist and we were getting nowhere. He hasn't had any change in medication dosage for over a year now and we have still continued to see improvement as time has gone by. Before the prozac, we tried risperidone, abilify and vyvanse. None of those helped and he had horrible side effects. He is currently homeschooled. We pulled him from school about three months into Kindergarten because he was having so many problems in the classroom. Our thinking at the time was that we would pull him for Kinder, have him thoroughly evaluated, get a diagnosis and get him some help before starting him in First grade the following Fall. I was definitely clueless about just how LONG that whole process would take! lol We're still homeschooling because it just seems to be a better fit for him. Things certainly aren't perfect and I still feel like our life is not "normal" but we're hanging in there. He has even started showing empathy in the past year and that to me has been MAJOR!