Newbie - how do I get an adult difficult child diagnosed?

dstr54

I'm new to this.

I have a 24 year old son (difficult child). He:
a) can't hold down a job & is currently unemployed.
b) has a couple of misdemeanors with jail time that keeps him from getting a job.
c) Is married, but the marriage is on the rocks. His wife also has "issues".
d) is hinting that maybe he could come back home to live & go to college
e) his sister (not at home, but a frequent visitor) can't tolerate him & I'm guessing she will severely curtail her visits home if he returns (she is a straight A student, working on her masters degree, holding down a waitress job (never been fired, etc.) - i.e., all around great daughter.
f) In his senior year in high school, he was diagnosed with a mild form of ADD. Too little, too late.
g) his last 1 1/2 years at home (before we kicked him out) was the absolute worst in our lives.

OK, now that I got that off my chest, I noticed many of you have had your difficult child diagnosed. I'm guessing there may be more resources available to us if we had our son diagnosed as well. Any suggestions on how to get an adult son diagnosed (assuming we can get him to cooperate)?

witzend

Welcome to our little corner of the world. Without his cooperation, there is really nothing you can do.

If he is serious about getting a diagnosis and help (can't get help without the diagnosis), make him get the diagnosis and make a plan before he comes home. If this means your putting him in a pay by the week hotel or cheap apartment for a month or so rather than bringing him into your home, then that should be what you do. He needs to understand that you appreciate that he is unhappy with where his life is at right now and that he wants to change his life.