Newbie..Intro

Alttlgabby

Thought that I would introduce myself. I am a newbie here but have been reading the board for about 2 weeks now and my problems at times seem so small in comparison to any of yours. My name is Callie. I am 43 yrs old and have been married to husband for 25 yrs. He just retired from the AF after 26 yrs, last week. We have 3 children of our own. Our oldest daughter has CP and some depression/anxiety issues but are being taken care of pretty much by medication. We also have two sons, 16 and 21 (in 2 weeks!), but neither of them have any type of issues. We also have two of my nieces living with us under foster care that we are adopting as soon as their incoming state gets court paperwork together for that. I started reading the boards due to our oldest foster child being defiant, stubborn, lying, etc..... We believe she has Fetal Alcohol Syndrome (FAS)/Fetal Alcohol Effects (FAE) and currently have paperwork being filled out through the state to try to get her in for testing. She is currently seeing a psychologist to have some other testing done as well because I suspect ADHD as well. The kid can't sit still for anything while reading, doing homework, etc, and is very easily distracteable. Other FD has some anger issues but those are not even of consequence really since it is only once in awhile. Both girls currently see a therapist as well due to the situation of being taken from mother. Will post later as I am currently off to get the girls from school for a therapy appointment.
A hearty good luck to those of you that really seem to need it and hugs as well! There are so many of you that it seems that you are so strong and have the entire world on your shoulders and seem to be weathering the storm pretty well. Kudos to you!

house of cards

Welcome to the board, I think you will find a lot of help and support here. You are brave to take on 2 teenagers. Good luck with your quest to get your diagnosis and hopefully, helpful services.