Obsession and paranoia

flutterby

Fly away!
Part of the anxiety, and a bigger problem than the regular old anxiety these days, is obsession and paranoia.

When difficult child gets something in her head, she cannot let it go. We spend hours, literally, working out the obsession of the moment. It's exhausting and never ending.

The paranoia is always present, but is a huge problem when her anxiety is high. She will hear and see things that aren't there, phobias grow by the day, etc.

I don't want to add an AP, but I'm thinking we're going to have to because of the paranoia. But, what works with the obsession? She does have some compulsions, but the biggest part of her Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD) is obsession.

LittleDudesMom

Heather,

I will be the first to say "I am no expert" but I have to feel that her anxiety and obsessions are seriously interfering with her ability to carry on in even a somewhat normal capacity. I think it's time to medicate those issues. At least it's time to try. The quality of her life is seriously low (not to mention how it affects those around her).

Hugs,
Sharon

smallworld

Heather, it is my experience that the right AP will target distorted and "stuck" thinking. Unfortunately, you will not know what is right for your daughter until you try one. Seroquel helped my son with anxiety and depression. Zyprexa helped my daughter M with distorted thinking around her choking phobia. Unfortunately, APs have a negative side effect profile, but sometimes they are a very necessary part of treatment. In the case of my daughter, Zyprexa was literally life-saving.

Josie

My daughter is diagnosis'ed with Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD), but hers is mostly the Obsession kind of Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD).