odd need hope

ircon

hi im a net novice so excuse the typing i live in ireland my 8 year old difficult child has odd i believe ,his home behaviour is so so but school and social is terrible he is exclude from any thing we can not supervise personally ie school bus ,scouts etc. tomorrow is a big day, after 4+years of "parenting lessons"i must convince well meaning counselers that my son needs one on one therapy from a pro as well as more specific education for my wife and i. im a carpenter not a shink but i think my difficult child is the rare case of odd only but the child shink after 4 years of interviewing only my wife and i is "reluctate" to label my child .he wasnt at school last at teacher request they needed a break 3 wks into school term but we live in a small town theyve never dealt with this before just typing this is helping to get it staight in my head suggestions welcome from vetrans

KitKat

Looking for Answers
Hi! And welcome. You've come to the right place.

You're correct; ODD is rarely seen as a one-off condition. It usually co-exists with others like Attention Deficit Disorder, etc. I can also tell you (in layman's terms) that ODD usually exists in the home environment as well as in society (eg. school, scouts, etc). I do not get that sense from your posting. Is there some reason why you've hit on ODD as a possible condition?

Additionally, has your son been officially diagnosed? Has there been any diagnosis other than what the counselors are saying? Perhaps you could elaborate and someone in the Forum could offer suggestions. We are all here to help and believe me, we can all offer suggestions!

Again, welcome; and good luck. Please keep posting. This is the greatest place that I have found yet!

BusynMember