On the verge of vegetarian -

goldenguru

I have been considering this for several years. The biggest reason is that I'm having a difficult time with- the idea that my hamburger used to be a living & breathing animal. I almost have to disassociate to be able to enjoy the meat.

So are there any vegetarians among this group? What I'm looking for is a starting place. A good book to read - an online forum. My biggest challenge is going to be that hubby is Mr. Meat and Potatoes. No kidding.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts/advise.

LittleDudesMom

Not sure if there are any "followers" of this forum who are veggies. Here are some links though -

www.VegCooking.com
www.vegetariantimes.com

Hope you find some yummy recipes. Since trying to kick up my weight loss, I've gone to some soy/veggie options - I now use the soy/veggie cheese. It's great! It melts and tastes like real cheese. Even sprinkled on a salad it tastes great. You should try it. They have chedder, motz, and then a blend. I also use the Morning Star recipe starters crumbled "sausage". It's great in an omlet or in spagetti. Not an animal product and very low in fat. My grocer has a section in the produce department where all the soy/veggie option foods are kept.

Another thing is tofu. I never wanted to try it - it just seemed gross to me. But it really does pick up the flavors of that it is cooked with. Here's one we love. Get the firm tofu and cube. Make a variation of general tsau's chicken by sauteing onions and brocolii with the tofu and then adding sugar free orange marmalade, roasted sesame seeds and soy sauce. Serve over brown rice or whole wheat cous cous. It's good. You can make husband some with chicken too.

Sharon

trinityroyal

I'm not a vegetarian, but I love tofu and vegetables and make a lot of meatless meals just because I like to.

Here is a book on how to get started: