Painting

Hound dog

Nana's are Beautiful
Well..........It's been interesting. :tongue:

I've been drawing and sketching since as far back as I can recall. I did one pastel portrait that turned out really nice first time I played with that medium. And took an oil painting class with my sis right out of hs where the instructor painting the example, and we did what she did. lol

So basically, this is my first time painting. This guy does not show you what to do. He offers suggestions and gives very vague instructions. Which I've discovered isn't very helpful when you've never 1. attempted anything in color and 2. never worked with paints before.

My first painting is an otter resting on a log. I wasn't allowed to trace the image onto the canvas because I'm also in his drawing class. So, I managed to sketch the otter onto the paper and get it right. (when he saw me just sitting there staring at it, he gave me some very helpful tips on how to do this) Then he set me loose to paint the darn thing.

Three wks in and I think Darrin could do a better job. I'm not good at mixing paint. Period. Obviously this takes ALOT of practice. Plus I'm trying hard not to make those lines I drew totally disappear so I know what I'm doing. Instructor says I'm doing wonderfully and not to worry.

Ok bud. Your the instructor and big shot artist.:faint:

Last week and this week I've been working on his fur. Oh, this is an adventure! Layer after layer of paint with an itty bitty brush. Takes forever. And he still doesn't look quite right, although better than before.

Tonight I get started early because I'm behind everyone else. Yes, leave it to me to pick the hardest thing possible to try to do the first time. I found out just how much harder it is when the other students in the more advanced classes kept commenting on it. Sigh