powerless

lost 17

Today , I came home from work my 17 yo son has a girl over. The door was closed ... Asked if there was a girl in there ... he said yes.... I asked that he opened the door .... he did then said no i can do what I want then closed the door .... I said dod you really want to do this in front of the girl ... this is my first time meeting her .... right now door is barely cracked ...I remained common calm ... I can not take him anymore .... he make me feel so small

WiseChoices

Open his door, politely ask the girl to leave . Stay calm. Just stand by the door until she leaves. Then calmly tell your son that he is to follow house rules and that the door must remain open when he has a visitor (of that is your house rules) and that his visitor will be asked to leave every time he violates the rule. It is your house. You make the rules.

Nobody can make you feel anything including small. It sounds like you are afraid of your son. We give our power away when we feel like we need to please others . I understand .I do this myself .Be very kind to yourself.

ksm

We had a no friends of the opposite sex in the bedroom rule.

Mainly because both bedrooms were upstairs and not easily monitored.

They complained. We stuck with it. It may not have stopped some of their actions, but at least they did not do those things in our home.

Ksm

Albatross

he said yes.... I asked that he opened the door .... he did then said no i can do what I want then closed the door .... I said dod you really want to do this in front of the girl ... this is my first time meeting her .... right now door is barely cracked ...I remained common calm ... I can not take him anymore .... he make me feel so small