Preschooler with Anger Issues

J

jassim35

Hello! I am a mother of three boys ages 9, 5 and 1. My eldest son has ADHD but is being treated through Neurofeedback. He has made amazing progress with this and has become somewhat of a model student and son. However, my 5 year old has unfortunately picked up on some of his negative behaviors, mainly sarcasm and anger that he is now exhibiting in his preschool. We are on a behavior contract at his preschool because he does several things that are against school policy such as swearing, backtalk to teachers, kicking others and refusal to take naps. Most of the time S is a sweet kid and loved by all but when he gets angry, watch out! I have tried positive teaching and modeling, reward systems work ocasionaly. The teachers at the school are unwilling to work with him and if he exhibits one of these behaviors that are listed above, he will be expelled from the preschool. If he is expelled I do not know what I will do, I am a teacher and will lose my job. I need suggestions as to what to do. Counseling? Behavior modification? If counseling, what works best for kids like S who are defiant and angry? Most therapists tell me that kids that are 5 do not have anger issues. I just need help, I am loosing my mind!

SRL

Hi jassim, welcome to our forum.

I'm of the opinion that if kids have grown up in a stable home environment with reasonably consistent parenting (I don't mean perfect), that if they're having problems functioning in typical environments, it's time to go looking for answers. Even kids with very spirited temperaments usually are responsive to authority when it comes to the big stuff by age 5.

I have a book suggestion for you so you can maybe get some ideas about what's going on and what path to take: What Your Explosive Child Is Trying to Tell You: Discovering the Pathway from Symptoms to Solutions by Dr. Douglas Riley.