Saying hello, and wondering how you all cope. Sheesh!

spongebobitis

Hi everyone. Been lurking here for years, especially on the bad days when I despair of having any sanity left after 9,526,485 questions about the same things from my kid. I apologize for the long post - I'll only do this once. :)

About me: I'm a 42-year-old part-time massage therapist, studying web design in my spare (?) time, and I'm married to a flat-out amazing 46-year-old man who works full-time in advertising. We have a 7-year-old girl who was diagnosed with Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASD) (asperger's at the time, which is an out-of-fashion term now). She didn't talk until she was 2 and we had almost no eye contact and very poor attempts from her at communicating before that, and I called in the Early Intervention people and they got her started on developmental therapy, speech therapy and Occupational Therapist (OT) until she went to preschool (special needs) at 3. Around the start of preschool, we had a pediatric neuropsychologist evaluate her and he diagnosed the Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASD). Haven't had another evaluation since, as we currently have no health insurance due to my husband and my career status as being self-employed, which in NJ means your insurance premiums are almost $20,000/year for a family. She does have an IEP for one more year before we need a re-evaluation, however. She doesn't take medications right now because she seems pretty stable despite her Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASD) quirks.