SD is refusing to provide an IEP

Our difficult child who has an orthopedic disability was recently diagnosed with Major Depressive Disorder and Asperger's Syndrome in a neuropsychological that was conducted at our expense. difficult child is 16 and a junior in high school. He has been under a 504 plan since the accident that caused his orthopedic impairment, 5 years ago.

When we received the results of the evaluation, we sent the SD psychologist a copy and requested an IEP. We heard nothing for several months and then suddenly, last week, the Counseling department secretary called me and scheduled a 504 meeting, which was held today.

These meetings are always extremely stressful for me, and I do professional mediations for a living. But, dealing with your own child places things in an entirely different arena. Boy was I ambushed today! There I was with several teachers, the 504 coordinator, the guidance counselor , the assistant principal and the school district psychologist. We moved through the 504 meeting, and then the psychologist pulled out difficult child's neuropsychological report. She began going through the various test results, sub-test by sub-test pointing out that difficult child was really "very intelligent" and that he would never be eligible for an IEP and he really had no issues, etc., etc. After 5 minutes of this performance , I politely told her that I had not come prepared to defend difficult child's evaluation and that I would prefer that she and I speak privately after the meeting so that we could finish our meeting with the teachers. Instead, she persisted until the time keeper finally said it was time for the next meeting to begin - and we needed to vacate the room.