Seeking advice/agreement about 9 yo step-daughter

CRob

Good morning everyone!

I am hoping someone from this forum, with more experience or knowledge than I, may be able to help my wife and I. Just to give a little background on the situation. We have been together for about 6 years and she has two children (9 and 7) and we have a 1 year old together. Our daughter has been quite defiant and--I'm ashamed to say, extremely self-centered. While we have known for several years now that there was something wrong we always just attributed it to the fact that her biological father was abusive and has decided to not come around her even though he was granted 50/50 custody.

I am currently a student in a local university (even though I am 28) and recently used the library to use the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders published by the American Psychiatric Association to try and find out what may be the cause. From what I have come to think, along with her mother, is that she is suffering from ODD (if not some other things that can be co-disorders). Trust me when I say that I have used the most objective ratings I could possibly muster when I was working through the common symptoms list. They are all there, from the frequent temper tantrums (that are continually getting worse) to the spiteful attitude. Since she is in school her vocabulary for swear words has dramatically increased and we are the target of those insults.