Seeking advice on inspiring difficult child to job hunt

dashcat

First a little background: I am fairly new to the world of the difficult child. I had a easy child until she was about 12 and then there was a very slow slide to the difficult child side. When she hit 17, the stuff really hit the fan. Her most recent episode was up and leaving college (7 hours away), meeting up with a guy she'd met on the internet (whom she'd "known" for 3 weeks online) and taking off to North Carolina with him to "live". We told her she had to formally withdraw from school (she, a former honor student, was failing everything) and return home to get a job. When she saved enough money and paid her debts, she would be able to get an apt and live wherever she wanted.

That was February. She lived with diagnosis until a month ago and did absolutely nothing to look for a job. She sunbathed, surfed the internet, skyped with her "true love" (a guy she's only seen in person for 48 hours), watched tv and ate.

She had a blowout with him (loonnnng story) and moved in with me. We just moved back to our home following a house fire in Oct, so there is much to do and I'm working her like crazy. Still, she does have to get a job. I can't pay for her health insurance, and she'll be off of X's in June when she turns 19.

We don't give her money, but she really doesn't seem to care. I get her up at 9:00 five days a week and make her work around the house until after dinner. And I do mean work. She does the work, does a reasonably good job, complains minimally. I refuse to let her lie around and veg except on weekends.